Blog

Cherry

Posted by on Feb 1, 2010 in Backlist | 0 comments

Cherry

Cherry Chandra Mayor March 2004 ISBN 1-894994-02-7 Novel / Lesbian 128 pages $14.95 Winner of the 2004 Manitoba book Award for Most Promising Writer! Winner of the 2005 Carol Shields Winnipeg Book Award! Set in the Winnipeg skinhead scene of the early 1990s, Cherry is an unsettling account of a woman’s negotiation of violence, memory, and identity. Mayor deftly employs the technique of pastiche to craft her story: newspaper articles, notes, photographs, letters, and even appointment slips are used to signify the multi-layered nature of...

read more

The Worthwhile Flux

Posted by on Feb 1, 2010 in Backlist | 0 comments

The Worthwhile Flux

The Worthwhile Flux Corey Frost December 2004 978-1-894994-06-4 Short Stories / Performance 5×7 inches, 144 pages $12 Shortlisted for the ReLit Award French rights sold The Worthwhile Flux, collects the best of Corey Frost’s chapbooks along with newer performance pieces and some never-before-seen writing. And, although the stories and photographs will now be forever fixed on the page, the experience is still definitely worthwhile. “These are stories for the altered attention spans of the modern world: experimental...

read more

Mac Tin Tac

Posted by on Feb 1, 2010 in Backlist | 0 comments

Mac Tin Tac

Mac Tin Tac   Marc Tessier & Stéphane Olivier December 2004 ISBN 1-894994-05-1 Graphic Novel / Mature content 6.5×10 inches, 160 pages $17.95 CDN / $15.95 US Mac Tin Tac, a dystopic allegory of modern life told through a unique combination of myth and hard-edged realism, was originally serialized in five comics between 1990 and 1995. To illustrate their vision, Montreal authors Tessier and Oliver commissioned the emerging talent of Quebec’s avant garde, many of these whom went on to varying degrees of success publishing in...

read more

Corner Pieces

Posted by on Feb 1, 2010 in Backlist | 0 comments

Corner Pieces

Corner Pieces   Lance Blomgren November 2004 ISBN 1-894994-04-3   Fiction / Art 6×8 inches, 112 pages $15.95 Shortlisted for the ReLit Award 2005 Corner Pieces is Lance Blomgren’s eagerly anticipated follow-up to Walkups. Moving formally and conceptually between autobiographical vignette, sociological study, historical monument plan, architecture proposal, civic protest and love ballad, Blomgren’s fictions create a psychological documentary of contemporary urban life. “It’s one of the juiciest, most pleasant little...

read more

Witness My Shame reprint

Posted by on Feb 1, 2010 in New Titles | 0 comments

Witness My Shame reprint

Witness My Shame by Shary Boyle reprinted

read more

The Unexpurgated Tale of Lordie Jones

Posted by on Feb 1, 2010 in Backlist | 0 comments

The Unexpurgated Tale of Lordie Jones

The Unexpurgated Tale of Lordie Jones Marc Ngui May 2005 978-1-894994-08-8 Graphic Novel 7×7 inches, 80 pages $12 A Doug Wright Award Nominee What happens when you try to double cross the tooth fairy? Marc Ngui’s follow-up to his popular and critically acclaimed book Enter Avariz answers this question with an intricately crosshatched cartoon conflation of childhood fears in a morally ambiguous suburban fable. Told with wicked delight and dark humour in the tradition of Roald Dahl, Edward Gorey, or Tim Burton, Toronto native Marc...

read more

Bowlbrawl

Posted by on Feb 1, 2010 in Backlist | 0 comments

Bowlbrawl

Bowlbrawl Nathaniel G. Moore October 2005 ISBN 1-894994-10-8 978-1-894994-10-1 Humour / Sports 6×9 inches, 192 pages $7.50 SALE PRICE Nathaniel G. Moore’s Bowlbrawl is the epic tale of Robert Towell’s rise from the exploitive ranks of provincial under-14 bowling stardom to the corporate late-1990s sabre-toothed world of full contact hypermasculine bowling. Granted unprecedented access to Towell’s story and those of WCB bowlers Dragan Momchilo and Greg Lebelle, this first time author has created a startlingly unique and hilarious...

read more

The Big Book of Wag!

Posted by on Feb 1, 2010 in Backlist | 0 comments

The Big Book of Wag!

The Big Book of Wag!   Joe Ollmann October 2005 978-1-894994-11-8 Graphic Novel 7×8.5 inches, 192 pages / $16.95 For over a decade (1991-2004), Joe Ollmann has made his way through the indy comics scene with Wag!, his micro-books of fictions and comics. Influenced by artists such as Ben Katchor, Edgar Allen Poe, Ralph Steadman and Edward Gorey, Ollmann draws the inhabitants of his world with remarkable craft and an eye for detail, making each character unforgettable. The Big Book of Wag! is a large format compilation filled with...

read more

Sextant

Posted by on Jan 31, 2010 in Backlist | 0 comments

Sextant

Sextant   Maya Merrick September 2005 ISBN 1-894994-09-4 Novel, 260 pages $15 French rights sold Maya Merrick’s first book, Sextant, is narrated by the perpetually displaced Cassy Peerson, a young woman who lives in a car on a beach in an unnamed California town and works as a mermaid at a strip club. Although this is her first publication Merrick writes with the maturity of someone who has absorbed the classics of literature, as if Dorthy Parker had channeled William Faulkner. Filled with spunky dialogue and strong character...

read more

Beauty is a Liar / All Day Breakfast

Posted by on Jan 31, 2010 in Backlist | 0 comments

Beauty is a Liar / All Day Breakfast

Beauty is a Liar Valerie Joy Kalynchuk May 2006 ISBN 978-1-894994-15-6 Novel, 112 pages $7.50 SALE PRICE All Day Breakfast  Valerie Joy Kalynchuk June 2001 ISBN 0-9685161-9-X Novella 5.5×5 inches, 64 pages $10 Valerie Joy Kalynchuk’s Beauty is a Liar is the follow-up to her first Conundrum book, All Day Breakfast, which the Globe and Mail called “a disarming stream-of-consciousness novel”. Her new book blends poetic verse, staccato prose and collage, and veers back and forth between Winnipeg and Montreal, exploring a young...

read more