Three Doug Wright Award Nominations!


Seth, Rabagliati, DeForge, Ollmann, Carroll, McFadzean short-listed for 2014 Doug Wright Awards

Members of historic “Canadian Whites” to be inducted into Hall of Fame during 10th annual ceremony

March 28, 2014, Toronto, ON — The Doug Wright Awards for Canadian Cartooning are proud to announce their 2014 finalists which includes a roster of new faces, past winners and industry stalwarts.

The nominees for the 2014 Doug Wright Award for Best Book are:

• Palookaville #21 by Seth (Drawn and Quarterly)
• Paul Joins the Scouts by Michel Rabagliati (Conundrum Press)
• Science Fiction by Joe Ollmann (Conundrum Press)
• Susceptible by Geneviève Castrée (Drawn and Quarterly)
• Very Casual by Michael DeForge (Koyama Press)

The nominees for the 2014 Doug Wright Spotlight Award (a.k.a. “The Nipper”) which recognizes Canadian cartoonists deserving of wider recognition are:

• Connor Willumsen for “Calgary: Death Milks a Cow,” “Treasure Island,” “Mooncalf,” and “Passionfruit”
• Dakota McFadzean for Other Stories and the Horse You Rode in On (Conundrum Press)
• Patrick Kyle for Distance Mover #7 – 12, New Comics #1 – 2
• Steven Gilbert for The Journal of the Main Street Secret Lodge
• Georgia Webber for Dumb # 1 – 3

And the nominees for the 2014 Pigskin Peters Award, which recognizes the best in experimental or avant-garde comics, are:

• “Calgary: Death Milks a Cow” by Connor Willumsen
• Flexible Tube with Stink Lines by Seth Scriver
• Journal by Julie Delporte (Koyama Press)
• “Out of Skin” by Emily Carroll
• Very Casual by Michael DeForge (Koyama Press)

A feature event of the Toronto Comic Arts Festival (TCAF), The Doug Wright Awards are pleased to announce that the pioneering artists of the Second World War “Canadian Whites” comics will be formally inducted into The Giants of the North: The Canadian Cartoonists Hall of Fame during the ceremony on Saturday May 10, 2014 in Toronto.

The Canadian Whites were black-and-white comics produced between 1941 and 1946 that contained a host of original (and iconic) Canadian characters such as Johnny Canuck, Canada Jack and Nelvana of the Northern Lights. These characters were created by the likes of Murray Karn, Adrian Dingle, Gerry Lazare, Leo Bachle and Jack Tremblay. The event will also serve as the official launch of a new collection of the complete Nelvana of the Northern Lights (by Adrian Dingle) being published by CGA Comics.

This year’s jury will include poet and novelist Lynn Crosbie, cartoonist and 2013 Doug Wright Award-winner Nina Bunjevac, media critic Jesse Brown (Canadaland, Search Engine) and and multiple Doug Wright Award-nominated cartoonist Nick Maandag.

To mark its 10th anniversary, The Doug Wright Awards will also be publishing a commemorative book that will include past art and memorabilia, along with original interpretations of Doug Wright’s “Nipper” comic by artists such as Seth, Chester Brown, Joe Ollmann, Pascal Girard, Michael DeForge, and more. The project will be supported by a Kickstarter campaign.

The finalists for the 2014 Doug Wright Awards were chosen from a long list of more than 150 works and submissions published during the 2013 calendar year. This year’s nominating committee included Jerry Ciccoritti, Betty Liang, Rachel Richey, Chris Randle and Chester Brown.

Leave a Comment